Laws are continually changing, leaving it difficult for contractors to stay compliant. Continuous training and research are great ways to stay up to date. Desert Lily Consulting is here to help get projects up to date before violations turn into monetary penalties, debarment, and criminal prosecution. Although not a complete list of requirements, below are a few key points to keep in mind when working on California public works projects.

Contractors, Owner/operator, sole proprietor, business owner

All Contractors must be registered on the DIR (California Department of Industrial Relations) before working or bidding on applicable public works projects. All employees, including owners, must be reported on certified payrolls. Apprenticeship requirements apply to contractors performing work under apprenticeable crafts, except for contractors that hold a sole proprietor license and personally performs all work on the project, unassisted.

California Apprentice DAS 140 & 142'S

Forms bust be sent to all applicable apprenticeship programs in the area of the public works project. DAS 140 (Notification of Contract Award) must be sent within 10 days of the signing of the contract or subcontract, but no later than the first day of workers being employed on the public works project. DAS 142 (Request for Dispatch of an Apprentice) must be sent out to apprenticeship programs for each apprenticeable craft or trade on the project, giving at least 72 hours' notice before apprentices are needed. "You are not required to sign any additional documents, such as the DAS 7 (Agreement to Train Apprentices), or agree to any other conditions set forth by a program. If a program does not want to dispatch apprentices unconditionally, and you have contacted all the appropriate programs in the geographic area then you have met your obligation under the law."

AB 1023

Specifies the requirement to submit electronic certified payrolls to the DIR at least once every 30 days. Bringing clarification to the previous wording of Section 1771.4 of the Labor Code. Enabling the Labor Commissioner to apply penalties of $100 per day, for non-compliant contractors and subcontractors.